FAQ SearchLogin
Tuxera Home
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu May 13, 2021 20:32



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Mounting NTFS 
Author Message

Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 18:59
Posts: 3
Post Mounting NTFS
Hi, I'm New to Linix/Debian, and I have a storage drive that was NTFS, and other versions of Linix could mount it, but Debian can't.

How can I fix this so I have access to the DATA on the storage drive?


Fri Oct 12, 2012 19:04
Profile
NTFS-3G Lead Developer

Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 17:22
Posts: 1286
Post Re: Mounting NTFS
Hi,
Quote:
and I have a storage drive that was NTFS

What kind of drive ? Is it not NTFS any more ?
Quote:
other versions of Linix could mount it, but Debian can't.

How did you try to mount it ? Please post the mount command or the /etc/fstab entry.
What is the symptom (error message, etc.) ?

Please post the outputs of the following commands (please copy and paste them)
Code:
uname -a
ntfs-3g -help 2>&1 | grep ration
ls -l /lib/modules/`uname -r`/kernel/fs/fuse/*.ko
# as root
fdisk -l


Regards

Jean-Pierre


Fri Oct 12, 2012 21:18
Profile

Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 18:59
Posts: 3
Post Re: Mounting NTFS
it's a Terabite Seagate SATA on a USB External, running the D-Link, or D shaped connectoron one end, and USB on the other. They both are running into a USB powered Hub.

As for the commands you mentioned, I would not know where to start putting commands like that into this system. Today is my first day on Debian, or even Linix.


Sat Oct 13, 2012 00:06
Profile

Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 18:59
Posts: 3
Post Re: Mounting NTFS
vector57 wrote:
it's a Terabite Seagate SATA on a USB External, running the D-Link, or D shaped connectoron one end, and USB on the other. They both are running into a USB powered Hub.

As for the commands you mentioned, I would not know where to start putting commands like that into this system. Today is my first day on Debian, or even Linix.


I found the Trouble. There was too many things on the Hub. I plugged it directly into the single port, and it worked fine.

It seems the Hub may not have been a supported device, or the Thumb Drive that was also on the Hub was causing a problem.


Sat Oct 13, 2012 00:25
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Original forum style by Vjacheslav Trushkin.