FAQ SearchLogin
Tuxera Home
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri May 14, 2021 16:26



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
How do Install ntfs-3g manually? 
Author Message

Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 18:43
Posts: 2
Post How do Install ntfs-3g manually?
Hi,

I am using Redhat 5.3 WS Linux with ntfs-3g_ntfsprogs-2011.4.12 tarball

I want to create my own installer, to install a sub-set of ntfs-3g onto a target machine.
(Essentailly I only want a user to be abe to mount and unmount, not use other ntfs-3g utils, so I don't want to use a 'make install' directly on this machine.)

I have copeid the ntfs-3g executable and libntfs-3g shared object libs and their associated symbolic links.
(I can give details if required.)

But I am getting a FUSE error when I try to mount.

My intention was to take advantage of the integrated Fuse support, so I have not installed a separate FUSE kernel module.
Now I could install one, (I have tried this and the mount then works) but it would be neater if I can utilise the built-in support.

Can someone please tell me what step(s) I have missed here?

Best Regards,

Howie Anderson.


Wed Aug 17, 2011 18:52
Profile
NTFS-3G Lead Developer

Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 17:22
Posts: 1286
Post Re: How do Install ntfs-3g manually?
Hi,

Quote:
My intention was to take advantage of the integrated Fuse support, so I have not installed a separate FUSE kernel module.
Now I could install one, (I have tried this and the mount then works) but it would be neater if I can utilise the built-in support.

You have to use the fuse kernel module. This is not provided by ntfs-3g. To know whether the fuse kernel module is present, type :
Code:
lsmod | grep fuse

If you are using the integrated fuse library, it is statically linked into ntfs-3g (and lowntfs-3g).

Regards

Jean-Pierre


Thu Aug 18, 2011 10:30
Profile

Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 18:43
Posts: 2
Post Re: How do Install ntfs-3g manually?
Ok,

I think I was getting confused, the integrated fuse library is just used to make fuse calls out to the kernel module then?, and I still need to have a separate fuse kernel module when using 5.3?
I had thought that the 'integrated' meant that it did the whole thing, not just generate fuse calls that still have to be handled externally by a fuse module.

(Many thanks for your help.)

Howie.


Thu Aug 18, 2011 15:11
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Original forum style by Vjacheslav Trushkin.